The LeBron James Let Down

An Ode To LeBron James Haters: Thank You For Your Service

Sammy Younan
8 min readMay 16, 2023

I am a LeBron James Day One Hater.

I despise LeBron James so it’s a present tense response. As such, over the length of his career―if you want to call it that―I’ve heard every single stat and every single rebuttal up to and including the insufferable one: he’s never been involved in a public scandal! “Gasp.”

(I loathe “Ohhh, won’t somebody please think of the children!” because it’s vague enough yet scary enough that all it can effectively do is promote panic rather than spark a robust discourse on morals. Basically, it’s something stupid people say to shut the conversation down…people like Helen Lovejoy.)

There’s no morality clause in the social contract. That’s not a legit thing. It’s like when championship teams visit the White House. It has nothing to do with the game or winning or anything else that properly matters in sports.

That I have not changed my position is not an indication I’m stubborn rather it is a disheartening recognition that LeBron James remains a divisive basketball player.

It was Sports Illustrated that came up with The Chosen One cover in 2002. I understand marketing. I understand hype: they hafta sell magazines. But it was LeBron’s choice to get The

--

--

Sammy Younan

Sammy Younan is the affable host of My Summer Lair podcast: think NPR’s Fresh Air meets Kevin Smith: interviews & impressions on Pop Culture.